Hoe Music Works
Love This Giant
Here Lies Love
News, Press & Bios
Art & Books
Film & Theater
Sound & Video
Stuff to Buy
Links & Info


David Byrne and Will Oldham Team as the Pieces of Shit for This Must Be the Place Soundtrack: Out April 23, with contributions from Jónsi, Iggy Pop, more [Link]
Jenn Pelly, Pitchfork, April 3, 2012

Sountrack Cover

As mentioned last year, David Byrne and Will 'Bonnie Prince Billy' Oldham have teamed for the soundtrack to This Must Be the Place, a new film from the Italian director Paolo Sorrentino, which stars Sean Penn as a retired goth pop star. FACT now reports that the Vinyl Factory will issue the soundtrack April 23, as a 2xLP heavyweight vinyl with gatefold packaging that includes images from the film.

Byrne and Oldham collaborated on five tracks as composer and writer, respectively, recording under the name the Pieces of Shit. (Nice job, everyone.) The soundtrack also features contributions from Jónsi & Alex, Iggy Pop, and others.

This Must Be the Place takes its name from a song by Byrne's former band, the Talking Heads. Several renditions of the song are included on the soundtrack, including a live take by Byrne. Byrne also makes an appearance in the film-- an experience he documented with a lengthy journal entry.

Check out the trailer for the film after the soundtrack's tracklisting.

This Must Be the Place:

Side A:
01 Gavin Friday: "Lord I'm Coming"
02 The Pieces of Shit: "Lay & Love"
03 The Pieces of Shit: "Open Up"
04 Mantonvanni & His Orchestra: "Charmaine"

Side B:
01 Daniel Hope, Simon Mulligan: "Arvo Part: Spiegel Im Spiegel"
02 Trevor Green: "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)"
03 David Byrne: "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) Live"

Side C:
01 Julia Kent: "Gardemoen"
02 Jonsi & Alex: "Happiness"
03 The Pieces of Shit: "Eliza"
04 Iggy Pop: "The Passenger"
05 The Pieces of Shit: "You Can Live It"

Side D:
01 Brooklyn Rider: "Achille's Heel – Il Second Bounce"
02 The Pieces of Shit: "If It Falls, It Falls"
03 Gloria: "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)"
04 Nuno Bruno E Le 8 Tracce: "Every Single Moment in My Life Is a Weary Wait"
05 The Pieces of Shit: "The Sword Is Yours"